
How Much Does a Master’s Degree Abroad Really Cost in 2026? Tuition, Living Costs and Hidden Fees by Country
At a Glance
- How much a master’s degree abroad costs ranges from about $12,000 a year at a tuition-free German university to more than $117,000 for a one-year master’s at Columbia, living costs and insurance included.
- United States: standard master’s tuition runs from $17,300 (UT Austin, non-resident) to $79,700 (Columbia GSAS) a year in 2026-27; full-time MBAs from $61,200 (McCombs) to $93,900 (Columbia Business School).
- United Kingdom: £29,000 to £47,000 a year for a standard master’s at the ten leading universities in 2026-27 (about $39,000 to $63,000), finance masters up to £51,000, MBAs from £45,410 to £88,800.
- Canada: CAD 10,100 (UBC research master’s) to CAD 33,460 (Toronto MA or MSc) a year; the national average for international graduate students was CAD 24,028 in 2025-26 (Statistics Canada).
- Australia: AUD 45,100 to AUD 64,800 a year for a coursework master’s at Melbourne, Sydney, UNSW and Monash; the visa application charge alone is AUD 2,500 since 1 July 2026.
- Europe: €3,950 a year for a non-EU master’s at a French public university, €21,000 to €25,900 at Dutch universities, and no tuition at most German public universities, except €1,500 a semester in Baden-Württemberg and €4,000 to €6,000 a semester at TUM.
- This article is for you if you are comparing countries and universities for a master’s and want a source-based total, not a headline tuition figure.
Introduction
A master’s degree abroad costs between roughly $12,000 a year and $120,000 a year, and the spread is explained by three things: the country’s tuition model, the city’s cost of living, and the administrative costs (visa, health cover, tests) that never appear on a university’s fee page. This article lays out the real numbers destination by destination, taken from the universities’ own 2026-27 fee schedules and from government sites, so you can compare the cost of a master’s abroad on a like-for-like basis before you apply.
By the end, you will know what tuition actually looks like across the main destinations, what living costs and hidden fees to plan for, why the same degree costs ten times more in one country than another, and where the limits of any estimate sit. US dollar equivalents are given in parentheses at the exchange rates of 15 September 2026 (1 GBP = 1.35 USD, 1 CAD = 0.72 USD, 1 AUD = 0.71 USD, 1 EUR = 1.16 USD, 1 CHF = 1.22 USD) and are rounded.
Cost of a Master’s Abroad by Country: Tuition, Living Costs and Fees Compared
| Destination | Master’s tuition per year (international students, 2026-27) | Official living-cost estimates per year | Visa and health cover | Proof of funds required for the visa | Typical length | Indicative all-in cost per year (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $17,300 to $63,100 at public universities (UT Austin to Michigan), $59,700 to $79,700 at private universities (NYU to Columbia); MBA $61,200 to $93,900 | $24,600 (UT Austin) to $38,500 (NYU) | F-1 visa fee $185, SEVIS fee $350, university health insurance $2,700 (UT Austin) to $8,200 (Berkeley) a year | Set by each university on the I-20, see our US student visa guide | 1 to 2 years | $44,600 (UT Austin) to $117,300 (Columbia GSAS, official total) |
| United Kingdom | £29,000 to £47,000 for a standard master’s at the ten leading universities ($39,000 to $63,000), finance up to £51,000 ($68,800), MBA £45,410 to £88,800 ($61,300 to $119,800) | £12,000 or more ($16,200), higher in London | Visa £558 ($750), Immigration Health Surcharge £776 per year ($1,050) | £1,529 a month in London, £1,171 elsewhere, up to 9 months | 1 year | $56,400 to $80,700 |
| Canada | CAD 10,100 (UBC research master’s) to CAD 33,460 (Toronto MA, MSc), $7,250 to $24,070; professional master’s up to CAD 72,850 (Toronto MEng); MBA CAD 71,670 a year (Rotman) to CAD 108,500 per programme (McGill) | CAD 25,450 to 36,850 (Waterloo), CAD 26,060 (McGill), $18,300 to $26,500 | Study permit CAD 150 ($108), biometrics CAD 85 ($61), health plan CAD 792 (UHIP, Ontario) to CAD 1,212 (McGill) | CAD 23,448 for a single applicant from 1 September 2026 ($16,870), plus first-year tuition and travel | 1 to 2 years | $26,100 to $51,400 |
| Australia | AUD 45,100 (Monash) to AUD 64,800 (Sydney, 2027 top band), $32,200 to $46,200; MBA AUD 87,500 a year (AGSM) to AUD 120,384 per programme (Melbourne Business School) | AUD 26,000 to 46,000 (Melbourne), AUD 28,860 to 40,820 (UNSW), AUD 30,000 to 45,000 (Monash), $18,600 to $32,800 | Visa AUD 2,500 from 1 July 2026 ($1,785), Overseas Student Health Cover quoted in the offer letter | AUD 29,710 a year ($21,200), plus tuition, travel and health cover | 1.5 to 2 years | $50,700 to $79,100 (before health cover) |
| Germany | No tuition at most public universities (LMU, FU Berlin); €1,500 a semester for non-EU students in Baden-Württemberg (Heidelberg); €4,000 to €6,000 a semester at TUM; semester contribution €97 to €377 | €842 a month (DAAD average) to €1,500 a month in Munich (LMU), €10,100 to €18,000 a year, $11,700 to $20,800 | Visa €75 ($87), public student health insurance about €110 a month | Blocked account €11,904 a year, €992 a month ($13,750) | 2 years | $11,900 to $21,700 at tuition-free universities, up to $35,600 at TUM |
| France | €3,950 for non-EU students at public universities ($4,560), €255 for EU students ($295), plus €105 CVEC | €600 to €800 a month (Campus France), €7,200 to €9,600 a year, $8,300 to $11,100; no official Paris figure | Visa €99, or €50 in Études en France countries ($114 or $58); VLS-TS validation €100 ($116) | €877.50 a month from 1 August 2026 ($1,010) | 2 years | $13,000 to $15,800 |
| Netherlands | €21,000 (Erasmus) to €25,900 (UvA) for a standard non-EU master’s ($24,300 to $29,900), medicine up to €37,400; EU statutory fee €2,694 ($3,110) | €975 to €1,800 a month (UvA, Utrecht, Erasmus), €12,000 to €18,000 a year for most students, $13,900 to $20,800 | Residence permit €254 ($293) | €1,130.77 a month ($1,310), about €14,200 a year as applied by TU Delft | 1 to 2 years | $38,100 to $50,700 |
How to read this table. Tuition figures are the 2026-27 international rates published by the universities named (for the US, UC Berkeley, Michigan, UT Austin, Columbia, NYU and Northwestern; for Canada, Toronto, UBC, McGill and Waterloo; for Australia, Melbourne, Sydney, UNSW and Monash; for the Netherlands, UvA, TU Delft, Utrecht and Erasmus; for Germany, TUM, LMU, Heidelberg and FU Berlin), not national averages. The all-in column adds the tuition, living-cost and recurring health-cover ranges given in this article for one year and excludes one-off visa fees, flights and tests, which are detailed further down; for the US it uses the universities’ own published cost-of-attendance totals. Living costs are the universities’ or national agencies’ official estimates and rise sharply in capitals. Proof-of-funds thresholds are the legal minimums set by each immigration authority, not spending forecasts; our guide on [how to budget for studying abroad](how to budget for studying abroad) explains how to treat them. Conversions use the exchange rates of 15 September 2026 and are rounded.
What Counts in the Real Cost of a Master’s Abroad?
The real cost of a master’s abroad is tuition plus housing, food, transport, health insurance, visa fees, standardised tests and application costs. When people ask about the cost of a master’s degree abroad they usually mean tuition alone, but tuition is only one part of the picture, and in several countries not even the largest one.
Tuition fees themselves vary enormously depending on the country and whether the university is public or private. Living costs add a second, ongoing layer that depends heavily on the city you choose, not just the country. One-time costs such as visa applications, health cover and language tests can add a few thousand dollars before you even arrive on campus.
As a result, comparing two countries only on their advertised tuition can be misleading. A programme with lower tuition in an expensive city can end up costing more overall than a pricier programme in a country with a lower cost of living.
Before you compare price tags, it helps to know which universities and countries actually fit your profile and career goals in the first place. Our International Orientation Advisor can help you narrow that shortlist down, so you end up comparing tuition and living costs across programmes that make sense for you, rather than every country at once.
✦ MY ELITE toolbox
GO FURTHER WITH MY ELITE

Admission Predictor
What are your chances
of getting in?

Find your perfect fit
Take our 5-minute career
guidance test

Cover letter writer
AI-crafted to make
your application stand out

Resume builder
A professional template
tailored to your target school
How Much Are Master’s Tuition Fees for International Students by Country?
Tuition fees for a master’s differ so much by country that treating “studying abroad” as one price tag does not work. Here is what the 2026-27 fee schedules say across the most common destinations.
United States
In the US, master’s tuition fees for a non-resident student in 2026-27 run from $17,312 to $19,340 a year at the University of Texas at Austin (official cost-of-attendance range, nine credit hours a semester) to $63,110 at the University of Michigan (Rackham graduate programmes), with UC Berkeley at about $32,700 for a standard graduate academic programme once the health fee is stripped out. Private universities sit higher: about $59,700 at NYU (Steinhardt graduate rate, $2,363 per credit), $70,986 for three quarters at Northwestern ($23,662 a quarter) and $76,212 in tuition plus about $3,475 in fees at Columbia’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, whose most expensive MA programmes (Economics, Statistics, Mathematics of Finance) charge $87,156 to $97,928. Full-time MBAs range from $61,214 a year at McCombs (UT Austin) to $93,908 at Columbia Business School, with Stern at $92,658, Kellogg at $88,536, Ross at $83,946 and Haas at about $92,750. On the universities’ own cost-of-attendance budgets, a one-year Columbia MA totals $117,283 with living costs and insurance, and a two-year master’s ranges from about $89,000 at UT Austin to close to $200,000 at Michigan or Northwestern. The visa procedure that comes with it is covered in our [US student visa guide](US student visa guide).
United Kingdom
UK master’s programmes, most of which last one year, charge between £29,000 and £47,000 in international tuition fees for a standard taught master’s at the ten leading universities (roughly $39,000 to $63,000), according to the 2026-27 fee pages of Imperial, Oxford, Cambridge, UCL, Edinburgh, King’s College London, Manchester, Bristol, LSE and Warwick. Finance masters sit higher, up to £51,000 at LSE (about $68,800), and full-time MBAs run from £45,410 at Edinburgh to £88,800 at Oxford (about $61,300 to $119,800), with Warwick at £59,500, Imperial at £78,000 and Cambridge at £80,000. The most frequent single fee across these ten universities is around £30,000 to £44,000 depending on the institution, humanities and social sciences at the bottom, clinical and business programmes at the top. Living costs add roughly £12,000 or more a year on top of that (around $16,200), depending heavily on whether you study in London or a smaller city. The fee bands of each university are compared in our [ranking of the best UK universities for international students](best universities in the UK for international students).
Canada
In Canada, master’s tuition for international students starts low for funded research degrees and climbs steeply for professional programmes. A research master’s costs CAD 10,082 in the first year at UBC (about $7,250) and CAD 7,696 a term, or CAD 23,088 a year, at Waterloo ($16,600); McGill charges CAD 10,674 per full-time thesis term ($7,680) and the University of Toronto CAD 33,460 for an MA or MSc in 2026-27 ($24,070). Statistics Canada puts the national average for international graduate students at CAD 24,028 for 2025-26 ($17,290). Professional master’s are another world: CAD 72,850 a year for Toronto’s Master of Engineering ($52,400), about CAD 72,500 a year for UBC’s Master of Business Analytics, CAD 71,670 for the first year of the Rotman MBA ($51,560), CAD 81,316 for UBC’s 16-month MBA and CAD 108,500 for the whole Desautels MBA at McGill ($78,060).
Australia
Australian universities charge international students between AUD 45,100 and AUD 64,800 a year for a coursework master’s. At the lower end, Monash quotes AUD 45,100 for its Master of Applied Linguistics and UNSW AUD 47,000 for International Relations (2026); Melbourne’s Master of Arts is AUD 50,976 (about $36,400). Science, business and engineering programmes cluster at the top: AUD 59,900 for Monash’s business masters, AUD 60,992 for Melbourne’s Master of Management (Finance) and Master of Science, AUD 62,000 for UNSW’s Master of Commerce, and AUD 60,800 to AUD 64,800 for Sydney’s 2027 bands in science, business, economics and engineering (about $43,400 to $46,200). MBAs go further: AUD 87,500 for the first year at AGSM (UNSW) and AUD 120,384 for the full-time programme at Melbourne Business School (about $85,900). Sydney’s fee page warns that “all fees are subject to annual reviews and indexation”.
Germany, France and the rest of Europe
Germany remains one of the most affordable options, but the picture has become less uniform. LMU Munich and Freie Universität Berlin charge no tuition to any master’s student, EU or not, only a semester contribution of €97 in Munich (about $112) and €376.80 in Berlin including the public transport ticket (about $435). Baden-Württemberg universities such as Heidelberg charge non-EU students €1,500 a semester (about $1,730), and the Technical University of Munich has charged non-EU master’s students €4,000 to €6,000 a semester since the 2024-25 winter semester (about $4,620 to $6,930), which puts a TUM master’s at €8,000 to €12,000 a year. Our [ranking of the best universities in Germany for international students](best universities in Germany for international students) shows which programmes remain tuition-free.
France has moved to a mandatory, higher tuition structure for non-EU students. For the 2026-2027 academic year, non-EU master’s students pay a nationally set annual fee of €3,950 at public universities (roughly $4,560), up from €255 (about $295), which EU, EEA and Swiss students continue to pay; every student also pays the €105 CVEC student-life contribution. Universities may still exempt up to 30 percent of their non-EU students in 2026-2027, a share that falls to 25 percent the following year and 20 percent thereafter. Even with this increase, France remains far cheaper than the US, UK, Canada or Australia for tuition alone, as our [ranking of the best universities in France for international students](best universities in France for international students) illustrates.
In the Netherlands, the statutory fee for EU students is €2,694 in 2026-2027 (about $3,110) at every university. Non-EU students pay the institutional fee, which is €21,000 at most Erasmus University faculties, €21,342 to €25,306 at Utrecht, €25,633 at TU Delft and €25,900 at the University of Amsterdam for humanities and law (about $24,300 to $29,900), rising to €34,100 for research masters at Erasmus MC and €37,400 for medicine and dentistry at UvA. Nuffic’s national range for non-EU master’s fees is €12,000 to €30,000. Nordic countries such as Denmark, Finland and Sweden charge nothing for EU and EEA students but several thousand euros a year for everyone else, and they also carry a notably high cost of living.
Business schools and grandes écoles: the exception to Europe’s low fees
The public-university figures above do not apply to Europe’s business schools, which set their own fees and price their master’s programmes closer to UK and US levels. The fees below are those published by each school for the 2026 intake, in the currency and on the basis the school uses.
| School | Country | Published master’s fee | Basis | USD equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEC Paris | France | €58,900 | As published | About $68,000 |
| INSEAD | France | €57,870 | As published | About $66,850 |
| ESSEC Business School | France | €42,170 (EU), €42,270 (non-EU) | As published | About $48,700 to $48,800 |
| ESCP Business School | France | €25,100 (EU), €28,800 (non-EU) | As published | About $29,000 to $33,300 |
| emlyon business school | France | €22,000 | Per year | About $25,400 |
| EDHEC Business School | France | €15,900 | Per year | About $18,400 |
| Bocconi University | Italy | €18,550 | Per year | About $21,400 |
| Rotterdam School of Management | Netherlands | €28,000 (non-EEA), €2,771 (EEA) | Per year, as published by RSM | About $32,300 (non-EEA), $3,200 (EEA) |
| WHU, Otto Beisheim School of Management | Germany | €41,200 | As published | About $47,600 |
| IESE Business School | Spain | €55,500 | As published | About $64,100 |
| University of St. Gallen | Switzerland | CHF 3,557.50 | Per semester (about CHF 7,115 a year) | About $8,700 a year |
| Nova School of Business and Economics | Portugal | €13,000 (standard), €16,000 (with exchange semester, non-EU) | As published | About $15,000 to $18,500 |
| Stockholm School of Economics | Sweden | SEK 360,000 | Whole programme | About $36,900 |
| London Business School | United Kingdom | £52,950 | As published | About $71,500 |
The contrast is the point: a non-EU student pays €3,950 a year at a French public university and €58,900 at HEC Paris for a master’s in the same country, while St. Gallen, a public university, charges Swiss and international students alike about CHF 7,100 a year. Where the basis reads “as published”, the school’s fee page does not state whether the amount is annual or covers the whole programme, so confirm before comparing it with an annual figure.
How Much Do Living Costs Add for International Students?
Tuition gets most of the attention, but living costs often determine whether a budget actually works. Housing is usually the single largest expense, followed by food, transport and utilities. The figures below are the universities’ own cost-of-attendance estimates for 2026-27, excluding tuition and health insurance.
| Destination | Official living-cost estimate per year (local) | USD equivalent | Source and note |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States, Austin | $24,568 to $24,939 | Same | UT Austin graduate cost of attendance 2026-27 |
| United States, Evanston and Ann Arbor | $29,598 (Northwestern, three quarters), $31,248 (Michigan) | Same | Housing and food alone: $22,941 at Northwestern, $22,276 at Michigan |
| United States, New York and Berkeley | $31,773 (Columbia), $33,012 (Berkeley, off campus), $38,472 (NYU) | Same | NYU housing alone budgeted at $24,414 |
| United Kingdom | £12,000 or more | $16,200 or more | Higher still in London |
| Canada, Waterloo | CAD 25,452 to 36,852 | $18,300 to $26,500 | Three academic terms, page updated July 2026 |
| Canada, Montreal | CAD 26,060 | $18,750 | McGill departmental estimate, rent and food CAD 18,500 |
| Canada, Toronto | Rent alone CAD 1,220 to 2,700 a month | $10,500 to $23,300 a year for rent | University of Toronto monthly ranges, no annual total published |
| Australia, Melbourne | AUD 26,000 to 36,500 (shared rental), AUD 33,500 to 46,000 (single apartment) | $18,600 to $32,800 | University of Melbourne; Monash quotes AUD 30,000 to 45,000 |
| Australia, Sydney | AUD 28,860 (on campus) to 40,820 (off-campus apartment) | $20,600 to $29,100 | UNSW, estimates as of May 2025 |
| Germany | €842 a month (national average), €992 minimum in Heidelberg, about €1,500 in Munich (LMU), €1,300 to €2,000 (TUM) | $973 to $2,310 a month | DAAD and university pages; €10,100 to €18,000 a year for most students |
| France | €600 to €800 a month | $690 to $920 a month | Campus France FAQ; no official Paris figure published |
| Netherlands | €975 to €1,500 (Amsterdam), €1,000 to €1,400 (Utrecht), €1,000 to €1,800 (Rotterdam) a month | $1,130 to $2,080 a month | University pages; Nuffic national average €1,000 to €1,500 |
Two patterns stand out. In the US, the gap between Austin and New York is about $14,000 a year on housing and food alone, before any difference in tuition. In continental Europe, living costs are gentler, but Munich, Amsterdam and Rotterdam now sit at €1,500 to €1,800 a month at the top of the universities’ own ranges, which is closer to UK levels than the “cheap Europe” reputation suggests; Switzerland and the Nordic countries remain the clear exceptions on the expensive side.
What Are the Hidden Costs of Studying Abroad?
Beyond tuition and daily living expenses, several costs catch international students off guard because they rarely appear on a university’s main fee page.
| United States | United Kingdom | Canada | Australia | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Visa or permit application | F-1 visa fee $185 | £558 ($750) | Study permit CAD 150 ($108) | AUD 2,500 from 1 July 2026 ($1,785) |
| Other immigration fees | SEVIS I-901 fee $350 | Immigration Health Surcharge £776 per year of visa ($1,050), paid upfront | Biometrics CAD 85 ($61) | Included in the visa charge |
| Health cover | University plan, $2,709 (UT Austin, two semesters) to $8,206 (Berkeley); Michigan $3,705, NYU $5,100, Columbia $5,823, Northwestern $5,996 | Covered by the health surcharge | UHIP CAD 792 a year in Ontario (Toronto, Waterloo), CAD 1,212 at McGill, about CAD 900 a year of BC health fee at UBC | Overseas Student Health Cover, amount quoted in the offer letter; Melbourne Business School cites AUD 1,706 for singles cover |
| Proof of funds | Set by the university on the I-20 | £1,529 a month in London, £1,171 elsewhere, up to 9 months | CAD 23,448 for a single applicant ($16,870), from 1 September 2026 | AUD 29,710 a year ($21,200) |
| Application fees | $50 to $100 per university | Often little or nothing | Check each university | Check each university |
| Germany | France | Netherlands | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visa or permit application | National visa €75 ($87) | Long-stay student visa €99, or €50 in countries using the Études en France procedure ($114 or $58) | Residence permit for study €254 ($293), 2026 tariff |
| Other immigration fees | None at application; residence permit after arrival | VLS-TS validation €100 ($116); Études en France file fee set per country in local currency | Included |
| Health cover | Public student insurance, about €110 a month in Study in Germany’s cost breakdown | Registration with the French social security system, free and mandatory for all students (Campus France); CVEC €105 ($121) per year | Dutch basic insurance, about €133 a month in Nuffic’s cost breakdown |
| Proof of funds | Blocked account €11,904 a year, €992 a month ($13,750) | €877.50 a month from 1 August 2026 ($1,010), previously €615 | €1,130.77 a month in 2026 ($1,310) |
Visas and immigration fees
Every destination charges its own visa or permit fees. The UK student visa costs £558 to apply from outside the UK (about $750), plus an Immigration Health Surcharge of £776 per year of your visa (roughly $1,050), paid upfront for the whole length of your course; the procedure is detailed in our [UK student visa guide](How to get a student visa for the UK in 2026). Canada’s study permit costs CAD 150 (around $108), plus a CAD 85 biometrics fee (about $61), and since 1 September 2026 you must prove access to CAD 23,448 in living funds for the year (roughly $16,870) on top of tuition and travel, as our [Canada study permit guide](How to get a student visa for Canada in 2026) explains. Australia’s Student visa (subclass 500) costs AUD 2,500 as of 1 July 2026 (about $1,785), and the Department of Home Affairs requires proof of AUD 29,710 a year in living costs for the primary applicant, AUD 10,394 for a partner and AUD 4,449 per child. In the United States, the F-1 visa application fee is $185 and the SEVIS I-901 fee $350.
In Europe the visa itself is cheap but the proof of funds is not. Germany’s national visa costs €75 and requires a blocked account of €11,904 for the first year, or €992 a month, a rule in force since September 2024 and detailed in our [Germany student visa guide](Germany student visa guide). France charges €99 for the long-stay student visa (€50 in countries covered by the Études en France procedure), then €100 to validate it on arrival, and since 1 August 2026 asks for €877.50 a month in resources, up from €615. The Netherlands charges €254 for the study residence permit and requires €1,130.77 a month in 2026, which TU Delft applies as a €14,200 deposit for the first year.
Health insurance
Health cover is mandatory almost everywhere and rarely optional. US health insurance for international students is the largest single hidden cost: the university plans run from $2,709 for two semesters at UT Austin to $8,206 a year at UC Berkeley in 2026-27, with Michigan’s international plan at $308.72 a month, NYU at $5,100, Columbia at $5,823 and Northwestern at $5,996. In Canada, the Ontario plan (UHIP) costs CAD 792 a year at Toronto and Waterloo, McGill’s international plan CAD 1,212 for 2026-27, and UBC students pay a CAD 75 monthly provincial health fee after a three-month iMED bridge. In Australia, Overseas Student Health Cover is compulsory for the length of the visa; the universities put the premium in the offer letter rather than on their websites, and the only published figure among the four surveyed is Melbourne Business School’s AUD 1,706 for singles cover (premiums as at 30 June 2025, coverage period not stated). The UK folds health cover into its Immigration Health Surcharge rather than charging a separate private premium, Germany’s public student insurance costs about €110 a month in Study in Germany’s breakdown, and France registers all students with its social security system free of charge, according to Campus France.
Standardised tests and applications
Before you even apply, language and admission tests add up. According to the official ETS fee page, the GRE General Test costs $249 in most locations ($231.30 in China). According to mba.com, the GMAT costs $275 for an in-person test in the US or $300 online (figures published July 2026); prices in other regions are shown only through the registration tool. The IELTS and TOEFL do not have one fixed global price: ETS (TOEFL) and the IELTS partners (British Council, IDP and Cambridge) set the exact fee by country and test centre through their own booking tools, so check the official website for your location; our [guide to admission and language tests](admission tests guide) explains which test each destination expects. On top of that, many US universities charge an application fee of roughly $50 to $100 per school, though a good number of UK and European universities charge little or nothing.
Currency exchange and flights
Finally, currency conversion fees, international flights and initial set-up costs (a housing deposit, a local phone plan, basic furniture) rarely make it into official cost calculators but affect your first few months’ budget.
Why Does the Same Master’s Cost So Much More in One Country Than Another?
Tuition fees are not set randomly. Your nationality matters a great deal in Europe, since EU and EEA citizens frequently pay a fraction of what non-EU applicants pay at the same university: €2,694 against €25,900 at the University of Amsterdam, €255 against €3,950 at a French public university, nothing against €1,500 a semester at Heidelberg. Public versus private status changes the equation everywhere: public universities are almost always cheaper than private institutions offering a comparable programme, and in the US the non-resident rate at a public university (UT Austin, Berkeley) still undercuts the private rate (Columbia, Northwestern) by tens of thousands of dollars a year.
Your field of study counts too. Business, engineering, computer science and health-related master’s programmes consistently cost more than humanities or education programmes: CAD 33,460 for a Toronto MA against CAD 72,850 for a Toronto MEng, AUD 45,100 for applied linguistics against AUD 59,900 for business analytics at Monash, €21,000 against €34,100 between an Erasmus social-science master’s and a research master’s at Erasmus MC. These programmes carry higher demand and, in some cases, higher accreditation and equipment costs for the university itself. Finally, the city you choose shapes your living costs independently of tuition, so a relatively affordable university in an expensive capital can still leave you with a high total bill.
Once you add tuition, living costs and hidden fees together, the resulting number reflects the economic model behind each country’s higher education system. Countries like Germany and the Nordic nations treat higher education largely as a public good, which is why tuition stays low or free even for many international students, in exchange for a higher cost of living. The US, UK, Canada and Australia run a more market-based model, where tuition is a central revenue source, but scholarships, assistantships and part-time work are also more widely available to offset it. A high sticker price is therefore not automatically a barrier if substantial funding is realistically available, and a low sticker price is not automatically a bargain if living costs quietly erase the difference.
Which Countries Offer Free or Low-Cost Master’s Degrees?
Germany is still the clearest case, with a caveat that did not exist a few years ago. LMU Munich, Freie Universität Berlin and most public universities charge no tuition to any master’s student, whatever the nationality, only a semester contribution of €97 to €377, so the yearly budget is essentially the €10,100 to €18,000 of living costs. The exceptions are Baden-Württemberg, where non-EU students pay €1,500 a semester, and TUM, where non-EU master’s students pay €4,000 to €6,000 a semester. France comes next, at €3,950 a year for non-EU students from 2026-2027 and €255 for EU students, plus the €105 CVEC, with living costs of €600 to €800 a month according to Campus France outside the most expensive cities. The Netherlands charges tuition to everyone but stays moderate for EU students at €2,694 a year; for non-EU students it is a mid-priced destination at €21,000 to €25,900. The Nordic countries are free for EU and EEA students only, and their living costs are among the highest in Europe, so for a non-EU applicant they are rarely the cheapest option once housing is counted. For a wider view of where these destinations sit, see our overview of the [top study abroad destinations in 2026](top study abroad destinations in 2026).
How Reliable Are These Cost Estimates?
Every figure in this article comes with real limits, and published cost estimates should be treated as a starting point rather than a guarantee.
Currency exchange rates shift constantly, so a tuition fee that looks affordable when you first research it can become notably more expensive by the time you actually pay it, especially over a one- or two-year programme. Cost-of-living estimates are averages, not personal budgets: your actual housing cost depends on the neighbourhood, the type of accommodation and how many flatmates you share with, so real spending can land well outside a published range, and several universities (Toronto, UBC, Sydney) publish no annual total at all.
Government-set fees such as visa costs, health surcharges and proof-of-funds thresholds change periodically, sometimes with limited notice, as France’s 2026 tuition overhaul and its August 2026 increase in required resources, Canada’s September 2026 proof-of-funds increase and Australia’s July 2026 visa fee rise all illustrate. University fees move too: Sydney publishes 2027 bands about 5 percent above 2026, Toronto raised international graduate tuition by 3.6 percent on average for 2026-27 and already publishes 2027-28 projections, and Columbia warns that MBA tuition “generally increases 2-7% in the second year”. Finally, university-published tuition figures do not always include mandatory extra charges such as lab fees, student union fees or programme-specific equipment, so it is always worth asking the admissions office for a complete, itemised total rather than relying on the headline number alone.
How Can You Reduce the Real Cost of a Master’s Abroad?
Most students do not pay full price out of pocket. Scholarships offered by universities, governments and foundations can cover a meaningful share of tuition, and some cover living costs too. Since most scholarship applications also ask for a personal statement or motivation letter, our Cover Letter and Essay Generator can help you turn a rough first draft into a clearer, more structured one before you submit it.
Graduate assistantships and teaching or research positions, common in the US and Canada, let you offset costs while gaining direct experience in your field; the CAD 10,082 research master’s rate at UBC exists precisely because research students are expected to be funded. Applying for one usually starts with a solid academic CV, and our Resume Generator can help you put one together quickly if you do not already have one ready.
✦ MY ELITE toolbox
GO FURTHER WITH MY ELITE

Admission Predictor
What are your chances
of getting in?

Find your perfect fit
Take our 5-minute career
guidance test

Cover letter writer
AI-crafted to make
your application stand out

Resume builder
A professional template
tailored to your target school
Many countries also allow international students to work part-time, which reduces your reliance on savings even if it will not cover tuition alone. Finally, choosing a slightly less expensive city over the most famous one, while staying within the same university system, can lower your living costs without affecting the value of your degree: the same US master’s costs $14,000 a year less to live through in Austin than in New York. The month-by-month method for putting all of this into a plan is in our guide on [how to budget for studying abroad](how to budget for studying abroad).
Is a Master’s Abroad Worth the Cost?
Whether the cost of a master’s degree abroad is worth it depends less on the raw total and more on what you plan to do with the degree afterwards. If your target career rewards an international qualification, whether through visa pathways, employer recognition or a stronger professional network, the investment often pays off over time.
Since your actual odds of getting in also shape whether a given budget makes sense in the first place, our Admission Predictor can give you a data-based estimate for your target universities before you commit financially to one country over another.
If your budget is tight and funding is uncertain, it is worth comparing lower-cost destinations such as Germany, France or other continental European countries against the higher sticker prices of the US, UK, Canada or Australia. A shorter programme, a public university or a country with a lower cost of living can meaningfully change your total spend without changing the quality of the education you receive.
Before committing, build a full budget that includes tuition, living costs, visa and health insurance fees, and test and application costs together, rather than reacting to a single advertised number. That complete picture, not the headline tuition figure alone, is what determines whether studying abroad fits your finances.
Frequently Asked Questions
Not automatically. Salary outcomes depend more on your field, the programme’s industry connections and the local job market than on the tuition price itself. A moderately priced programme with strong employer partnerships can outperform a costlier one with a similar curriculum, which is why total cost should always be weighed against the specific careers a programme actually leads to.
Yes, and this happens more often than students expect, particularly in Germany and the Nordic countries, where tuition is free or nearly free for many students. In these cases your annual living budget, €10,100 to €18,000 a year in Germany according to DAAD and university estimates, becomes the larger part of your total cost, and the city you choose matters more than the university’s fee page.
Many do, though policies vary by institution. Some split tuition into two or three payments a year, while others require a large upfront deposit followed by a single balance. Confirm a school’s specific payment schedule before you commit, since it affects your cash-flow planning even if the total cost stays the same, and check whether the visa requires proof that the first instalment has been paid.
Rarely in full. Visa application fees are generally non-refundable regardless of the outcome, and upfront health surcharges such as the UK’s Immigration Health Surcharge are only partially refundable if you leave early or your visa is refused. Check the refund policy for each fee before you pay it, and pay visa fees only once your admission and funding are confirmed.
A one-year programme, common in the UK and much of Europe, usually costs less overall, since you pay one year of tuition and living costs instead of two. However, two-year programmes, more common in the US, often include more internship time and a wider course selection, so the shorter option is not automatically the better value once career outcomes are counted.
Conclusion
The real cost of a master’s degree abroad is rarely just the tuition fee printed on a university website. Between living costs, visas, health insurance, standardised tests and everyday currency shifts, your true budget is built from several moving pieces at once, and each one deserves its own line in your planning. Use the country-by-country figures in this article as a starting point, then verify current tuition, visa and health insurance costs directly with your target universities and each country’s official immigration website before you commit. Costs change, sometimes quickly, so recent, official numbers should always have the final word over any general estimate, including this one.
✦ MY ELITE toolbox
GO FURTHER WITH MY ELITE

Admission Predictor
What are your chances
of getting in?

Find your perfect fit
Take our 5-minute career
guidance test

Cover letter writer
AI-crafted to make
your application stand out

Resume builder
A professional template
tailored to your target school

